Graduate Work – Final

Again, I apologise for the lack of posts.  I’ve been so busy with study and work that every spare moment has been taken up with other things beside blogging.  So…I’ve finished the body of work that I recently exhibited for the Graduate Show.  This work follows on from the those images (see previous post) that I was working on earlier in the year.  The concept and imagery hasn’t changed so I decided to research photographic processes and presentation methods.  How could I make these images more interesting?  I managed to get stuck in a bit of a rut until I stumbled upon a box of expired photographic paper at the house during one of my visits.  Considering I had plenty of digital images and that decisions needed to be made, I turned a selection of these images into digital negatives and printed them in the darkroom, onto the paper I had found.  Limited to 10 x 8 inch in size, these images became  artefacts…small captured memories of the home.   I loved being back in the darkroom too.  This experience has definitely persuaded me to return to film and alternative photographic processes.  Now that the degree is completed, I’m going to take a study break and build up my portfolio (and bank balance) and apply for honours in 2014.

These are only 3 of the 6 images that I exhibited.  The image itself was only printed at 5 x 4 inches with an exposed black border and floated inside a box frame without a matt.  There was a lot of trial and error in getting the result I wanted with the nuances in the image focus due to the variations in contact between the negative and photographic paper.

Now that I have more time to contribute to my arts practice, I’ll post much more often about my own work as well as other artists that I find inspiring.

All images by Kylie Macey 2012

 

Leave a comment

Filed under black and white, personal work, photography

Leave a Reply

