Annie Hogan

Annie Hogan’s artwork explores the complex and evolving relationships, past and present, between people and the spaces we inhabit.  Her work has evolved out of a persistent curiosity about interior spaces, how people inhabit them and their relationship to the body.  Through saturated colour and skewed perspective she reveals arterial spaces of the in-between that momentarily enclose the body yet allows for departure through open portals of light.

I came across Annie’s work during my research for my own body of work.  As I’m in my graduate year, I have to come up with a body of new work to exhibit by the end of the academic year.  My lecturer mentioned Hogan after seeing some of my preliminary images from a month ago…nothing spectacular by any means but at least I’m heading in the right direction as the basis for Hogan’s work correlates similarly to the series of images I’m currently working on.  We both focus on the domestic interior as a container of time, natural light and the absence of human presence.  The following images were taken on the day my parents moved out of my childhood home.  Completely empty of furniture, it evoked in me a sense of loss as it would be the last time I would set foot in this house.

I chose to photograph these rooms at the last-minute using the only camera I had with me…my camera phone.  I hope to post more images as I go.

More of Annie’s work can be seen at her site here.

Leave a comment

Filed under mobile, personal work, Photographers, photography

Leave a Reply

